Early Years2019-06-23T08:30:35+00:00

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The Early Years Foundation Stage is for children aged 2½ to 4½. This covers the years they spend from the beginning of Pre-Foundation to the end of Foundation One, preparing them for Reception class.



The Foundation Stage curriculum sets out early learning goals for children aged 2½ to 5½, outlining what most children are expected to achieve by the end of the Foundation Stage. They also help the staff working with this age group to focus on what children need to learn.

The early learning goals are based on seven broad areas of learning.

Educational programmes must involve activities and experiences for children, as follows:

  • Communication and language development
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Literacy development
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design